Baltic cooperation

Monday, 19 October 2020 16:23

Medal of the Baltic Academies of Sciences

medala 1

The Medal of the Baltic Academies of Sciences is awarded for contribution to promoting cooperation of the Baltic States and for achievements in science. Since 1999, the awarding ceremonies of this special international award of the Baltic academies of sciences have taken place six times and 32 medals have been awarded (as of 01.06.2019). The wording on each Medal diploma is different, but one feature they all have in common is the great contribution to fostering cooperation among the scientists in the Baltic region and to carrying out joint research.

Statutes of the Medal of the Baltic Academies of Sciences  (accepted at the 17th Baltic Conference on Intellectual Cooperation, Tallinn, 29 June 2021) (pdf) 

The laureates of the Medal of the Baltic Academies of Sciences are as follows:

In 1999 – Juras Požela (Lithuania), Jānis Stradiņš (Latvia), Evald Ojaveer (Estonia)

In 2000 – Jüri Engelbreht (Estonia), Jarmo Visakorpi (Finland), Jurgis Vilemas (Lietuva), Juris Ekmanis (Latvia)

In 2001 – Tālis Millers (Latvia), Carl-Olof Jakobson (Sweden), Benediktas Juodka (Lithuania), Mihkel Veiderma (Estonia)

In 2003 – Jonas Kubilius (Lithuania), Jānis Kristapsons (Latvia), Peeter Tulviste (Estonia)

In 2007 – Olof G. Tandberg (Sweden), Andrejs Siliņš (Latvia), Zenonas Rokus Rudzikas (Lithuania), Raimo Pullat (Estonia), Matti Saarnisto (Finland)

In 2010 – Pietro Umberto Dini (Italy), Ain-Elmar Kaasik (Estonia), Ervīns Lukševičs (Latvia), Zigmas Zinkevičius (Lithuania)

In 2013 – Tarmo Soomere (Estonia), Andris Šternbergs (Latvia), Eugenius Butkus (Lithuania)

In 2015 - Benedikts Kalnačs (Latvia), Zenonas Norkus (Lithuania), Peeter Järvelaid (Estonia)

In 2019 – Isaak Rashal (Latvia), Maris Laan (Estonia), Vaidutis Kučinskas (Lithuania)

In 2021 – Tiit Tammaru (Estonia), Andris Ambainis (Latvia), Valdemaras Razumas (Lithuania)

The winner of the honorary medal of the Baltic Academies of Sciences – Edwin Kreuzer (Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg)

In 2023 –  Jūras Banys (Lithuania), Baiba Rivža (Latvia), Arvi Hamburg (Estonia)

Read 2041 times Last modified on Wednesday, 03 May 2023 12:28
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.